Uncategorized

  • Work in Progress - Crochet

    I haven't really posted on my crochet projects in awhile, mainly because they've been all over the place.  I've put my afghan (which will forever me called "the afghan that is never finished" in my mind) on the back burner so that I could start work on the two lap afghans that I am making for my mom and mother-in-law for Christmas.  On top of that, I've also decided to make a baby blanket for my friend who is pregnant and due in October.  Plus...another friend is pregnant, so I might make her a blanket too.  Basically...my afghan will never be finished...I'm ok with this.

    I'm nearly finished with the first lap blanket that I've made...this one is for my mother in law.  I've used a granny square pattern and my mother-in-law wanted it done in "neutral" colors.  Well...there really aren't that many different neutrals, so I used cream, mocha (light brown), walnut (dark brown), and turquoise.  The turquoise is a fairly dark color, so it doesn't "pop" as much as I would have liked, but I think it works overall.  I have 32 rounds finished so far, and plan to go to 40 rounds, which will make the blanket a 36" x 36" (3' x 3') square.  Obviously, it's not meant to fit your entire body under, but it'll be good to cover up your legs if you're curled up on the couch!

    So...here it is!  Obviously, this is not a great picture, as I took it with my iPhone and the blanket is just sitting on my kitchen table, but you get the idea.  I'll take nicer photos when I'm finished up with all my projects.   I still need to add 8 more rounds, and then finish weaving in my ends, and it'll be ready to be blocked.  I found a great article on steam blocking acrylic yarms, so I need to buy a few supplies, then I can get that part finished.  Then...it'll be all about the wrapping and getting it ready for Christmas!

    So...what do you think?

    MIL Afghan

     

    Hope you all are having a great day!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

     

  • Losing Touch.

    I feel like I'm losing touch with a friend back home, and don't really know what to do about it.  I try to talk with her whenever I get a chance, but the vast majority of my messages are unanswered.  She never tries to talk with me, other than when she needs advice on something, and normally that doesn't bother me.  But lately, I just feel like I'm the only one putting in ANY sort of effort!  I feel like I just need to let it go and not try to contact her (because I feel like I'm probably bugging the shit out of her...but then I think, if I am, why doesn't she just tell me).  Ugh...I hate this part of growing older/living abroad/interpersonal relationships.  I'm a big fan of just telling it like it is...if someone is bothering me, I tell them.  I expect people to respect me enough to do the same and not just ignore me. 

    Ugh...just had to vent.  I don't know what to do, but I think I'm just going to stop trying to get in touch and let her come to me if she wants.  I'm just sad, because I really valued her friendship.  Sigh.

     

    Hope all is well with everyone!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Back.

    I got back from Germany late afternoon on Friday.  I don't think I've ever been so mentally exhausted!  The past week of working in Germany was completely draining...I took a three hour nap on Saturday, and another nap again today!  Hopefully my batteries are recharged enough for work tomorrow, though I'm not looking forward to going through the massive amounts of emails that I have in my inbox...all neglected from last week.  Sigh.

    Things are going well here...glad to be back home.  The weather is less than fabulous...it's been another cool and rainy summer, but I don't mind too much.  For now, I'm just working on getting my eating back under control and exercising.  I need something to combat all the work stress, so hopefully the extra exercise will help.

    Hope you all had a fabulous weekend!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Oy.

    I'm in Germany this week for work and boy has it been a crazy.  Monday morning, I drove here from Eindhoven.  Left around 6am and got in around 10:00am, so not too bad.  Four hours on the road isn't a big deal, but I was less than thrilled with some of the traffic areas.  Then, it was immediately jumping into work.  I haven't stopped since.

    Monday afternoon, there was a horrible accident outside the plant where I am.  Motorcycle vs. car.  Once I saw the victim, I pretty much knew he wasn't going to make it, but it was still really sad to see a body laying in the middle of the road, wrapped up in a sheet.  There was blood everywhere, and it still hasn't faded completely...and every morning you have to pass that spot to get into the parking lot, so it's just been a constant reminder every day.  After I saw the accident, I called Jamie to tell him I loved him, to be careful, and to cuddle our cat for me.  I hate being away from him when something like this happens.

    Work is...well...work.  I'm in the middle of some integration work here...basically, we've acquired a German conmpany and I'm working to integrate our Sales and Marketing processes into their processes here, plus getting those employees that will be staying on and hired by our company up to speed.  It definitely makes for VERY long days...and it's much warmer here than back home, so I'm struggling to sleep at night due to the heat (remember...Europe = no A/C).  Otherwise though, it's good.  The people I'm working with are wonderful (both on the European and US side) and every one has been really willing to work hard and put in the extra effort, which really helps make things bearable.  Unfortunately, I'm eating my weight in German food...and man is it taking it's toll.  I'm not used to such heavy meals, and the small town I'm staying in has only a handful of restaurants...one being in the hotel where I'm staying.  So...limited options, and only one vegetarian option on the menu where I am.  I eat meat, but sometimes I just need something "light"...and "light" does not seem to exist here.  Fried does exist, however, as does breaded, gravey, and massive amounts of potatoes.  It's delicious as all get out, but man is my stomach all jacked up.  Very unhappy...I couldn't even eat breakfast today because I felt so ill.  Oh well...it'll get better.

    I head back tomorrow, and then get to have a very relaxing weekend with Jamie.  I really missed him this week...it's been hard being away from him, especially with the horror of the bike wreck, and on top of that I'm PMSing, so hormones are all out of whack.  Next week will be much better...at least my hormones will be under control once again.

    That's about it in my life.  Work has been insane and I'm basically working, eating, and sleeping.  Sorry I've been so MIA from here these past few weeks, but it's been hectic.  I'll try to be better about updating.

    Hope you all are doing well!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Getting There

    I am FINALLY getting back in the habit of working out and eating (somewhat) healthy.  Jamie and I are doing the C25K to get back in running shape, and then we'll go from there.  I'd like to run the Eindhoven 6k again, like we did last year, and beat our time.  Last year, we were running 12:30 minute miles (so slow), but now my body has completely changed, and I'm running below a 10 minute mile pace!  It's crazy...and I have no idea what has caused the difference, but it feels good.  It feels like I'm pushing myself so much more than I was prior.  I definitely feel a lot better about my workouts, now that I'm running a faster pace.  We're running M/W/F and we're starting to do weight training on T/TH, plus we tend to do some sort of outdoor activity over the weekend.  I'm really happy that we're getting back into being so active...I always feel much better when I'm doing things.

    In other news...my crocheting has come to a stand still.  I need to get my shit in gear and start making the blankets for my mom and mother-in-law!  Plus, I am planning on making a blanket for a good friend who is having a baby in October.  Today is her 20 week mark, so I really need to get it in gear!  Sadly, I haven't even bought yarn for the baby blanket yet...the nursery is done in pink, black, and white...so it should be easy enough.  Just need to make myself do it.

    Work is...well, work.  Still doing a lot of different things right now.  I'm supposed to be in the UK tomorrow for a three day workshop, but I haven't received my passport back from the US Consulate, so that's not going to happen.  I'd better get it back soon...I hate not having my passport!

    Hope all is going well wherever you all are!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • The Truth Revealed!

    Some of you were close, but no one got them all.  Here are the real answers:

     

    1.    I've had skin cancer several times in my life.  (True - in fact, I've had it so many times, I've lost count.  I have to count scars if I want to know)
    2.    I'm adopted. (True...adopted by my maternal grandparents)
    3.    I got engaged to Jamie four months after meeting him for the first time. (True.  Actually, 4 months and 12 days...but who's counting)
    4.    I've lived in three countries so far. (True.  Japan, Netherlands, and US)
    5.    I've had sex with only three men in my life. (True.  And no, I'm not naming them)
    6.    I'm Jewish. (FALSE.  Though, there is something about Judaism that appeals to me)
    7.    I've studied four foreign languages. (True.  Spanish, French, Arabic and Dutch)
    8.    I love to cook. (True.  Cooking is so relaxing!  I love to make different dishes, and I love feeding people)
    9.    Jamie and I met online. (True.  Match.com, baby!)
    10.  I wanted to be a music major in college. (True.  I play flute, saxophone, and several percussion instruments.  I'm currently studying violin)
    11.  I failed the bar exam on the first try. (FALSE.  Passed on the first try, though honestly, I have no idea how I managed that one!)
    12.  I used to be a smoker. (True.  I smoked towards the end of college and at the beginning of law school.  I stopped when Jamie told me that he didn't date girls who smoke)
    13.  I love sushi. (True.  OMG...SUSHI!)
    14.  I don't like coffee. (True.  Don't like it...never have.  I don't mind the smell, but even that sometimes is overwhelming)
    15.  I don't have a tattoo, but I want one. (True.  I've been looking for the perfect design.  I plan on getting one at some point)
    16.  My breasts are one of my favorite parts of my body.  (True.  They're large, firm, and still perky.  I can't complain)
    17.  I love to read, and at one point, owned over 2000 books. (True.  I donated them all when Jamie and I built our house, because there wasn't enough room for them all)
    18.  I have never been unfaithful in a relationship. (True.  I've never cheated)
    19.  The carpet doesn't match the drapes (so to speak). (FALSE!  The carpet absolutely matches the drapes...well...except the drapes have some grey, but whatever)
    20.  I barely have a sense of smell. (True.  My sniffer just doesn't work well)
    21.  I used to compete in singing competitions, and win. (True.  I've always loved to sing)
    22.  I was recently scuba certified.  (True.  Certified May 18th)
    23.  I know how to hotwire a car. (True.  Misspent youth.)

  • Because I'm a sheep.

    Some of my friends on here have done this, and it looked really interesting.  I know I put a lot of personal information about myself and life out there, so here's the test to see if you all are paying attention!

    20 truths and 3 lies...can you tell the difference?

     

    1.    I've had skin cancer several times in my life.
    2.    I'm adopted.
    3.    I got engaged to Jamie four months after meeting him for the first time.
    4.    I've lived in three countries so far.
    5.    I've had sex with only three men in my life.
    6.    I'm Jewish.
    7.    I've studied four foreign languages.
    8.    I love to cook.
    9.    Jamie and I met online.
    10.  I wanted to be a music major in college.
    11.  I failed the bar exam on the first try.
    12.  I used to be a smoker.
    13.  I love sushi.
    14.  I don't like coffee.
    15.  I don't have a tattoo, but I want one.
    16.  My breasts are one of my favorite parts of my body.
    17.  I love to read, and at one point, owned over 2000 books.
    18.  I have never been unfaithful in a relationship.
    19.  The carpet doesn't match the drapes (so to speak).
    20.  I barely have a sense of smell.
    21.  I used to compete in singing competitions, and win.
    22.  I was recently scuba certified. 
    23.  I know how to hotwire a car.

    So, there you have it. Somewhere in that list is 3 lies...do you know them?

  • ARG!

    OMG, work has been driving me insane lately.  I've been working ridiculous hours, mainly because I picked up a new project that is slated to finish in early July.  I'm working on an integration team for an acquisition that we're bringing into our company in Europe.  Sounds like fun, and it is super interesting, but it is resulting in 12-14 hour days...which are slowly killing me.

    What sucks more, is that Jamie has been working equally as hard, so we've basically seen each other for dinner, then for a few minutes lying in bed at night.  I know it's temporary, but I miss my husband.  It's weird...we live in the same house, work in the same office, and sleep in the same bed, so how can I miss him?  But, even being near him, we have little to no interaction, which sort of sucks.  Tonight is supposed to be a date night, and we'll spend all weekend together, so that will help.  Basically, I just need for work to settle down...asap!

    So, tonight we're going out for a date.  Nothing fancy, just dinner out, but it will be SO nice to get out of the house, away from the computers and the phones, the television and the couch.  Not sure where we're going yet, and we'll probably just make a last minute decision, but I don't care.  I just need to get out of this apartment before I go mental.  A few hours of a break will do me a world of good...and gear me up for tomorrow, and finally the weekend!

    How are you all doing???  Anything new and exciting in your lives? 

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Diet, be damned

    Ugh, I have fallen off the wagon, in the worst possible way!  First, it was slacking on working out.  Ever since Jamie hurt himself after our 6K last year, working out has been sporadic, at best.  Then, it was the slow demise of my "better food choices" commitment.  Then, it was the two trips to England, followed by a week in Palma de Mallorca.  And then...it was an extra 7 pounds on the scale.  Bastards.

    So now, I'm working to get back into the groove.  I know why I gained weight, and I know what I have to do to lose it again.  They say that's half the battle, but man...I feel like it's only about 2% of the battle.  I crave sweets all the time, and I know if I cut them out, the cravings will subside, but it's the cutting them out bit I seem to have trouble with.  DAMN YOU, HARIBO GUMMI BEARS!  DAMN YOU!

    Let's see...I'm back on track with running, finally!  Now, I'm nowhere near where I was when I quit, but at least I'm running 3-4 times a week.  We've been super active on the weekends as well, except for last weekend.  We had a cold front run through the Netherlands on Saturday, and by the time Sunday morning was here, my head felt like someone had taken an axe to my sinuses.  I seriously felt like death warmed over.  It's not much better today, and I'm super tired, but I gotta push through it.  I spend the day working, then cleaned the house, did laundry, and finished off the dishes.  I'm in the midst of roasted some carrots for dinner, then I'll start the pasta in a few for when Jamie comes home for dinner.  It'll be a late night for him, he has late meetings every other Monday.  Bah.

    In other news...yeah...I got nothing.  We're supposed to be getting our Olympics tickets soon, so that'll be fun!  I can't believe I'm going to the Olympics!  Exciting!  We're waiting on our passports to get back from the Consulate (I needed more visa pages added, and Jamie's was due to expire in August), and after that, we can book travel again.  I'm still trying to decide if I can go home in August for my best friend's little sister's wedding.  She and her family are my second family, and I really want to go, so we'll see if I can make it happen.  Otherwise, just the same old, same old here.

    Hope all is going well in your world!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • It's a Girl!

    No, I'm not pregnant, but a good friend of mine is!  This is her third child, but she's had several second trimester miscarriages prior due to a blood clotting disorder.  She's turning 41, and was super worried about birth defects and the baby not making it to to her disorder, but so far, baby is fine!  The amnio came back clear for any chromosomal abnormalities, and it's a girl!  I'm so excited for my friend, it's unreal!

    Which is why I'm making her an afghan!  I didn't get a chance to make one for her other two children, as the oldest is 12 (and I didn't know this woman at that point in our lives) and her youngest is nearly two.  When her now youngest was born, I wasn't into crochet, so I didn't make her anything...though I probably will as the year progresses.

    The colors of the baby's room are pink, white and black, so it'll be easy to match the quilt to that color scheme.  Here is the picture of the afghan I'm going to make...it's a free pattern from LionBrand yarn, so if anyone is interested in making something like it, go to LionBrand and check out their patterns!

    Baby Tupp Afghan 

    I really like the colors that are already shown, but I want it to match the bedroom colors, so I'll make it in the colors I already mentioned. I'm thinking I might try to make the pink rows wider than the white and black, but we'll see how the pattern works out. I'll definitely keep you updated!

    As for my afghan...I'm still working on it, but it's taking a back seat at the moment. I'm making this afghan for my friend's baby, and then afghans for both my mother-in-law and my mom for Christmas. It'll be a busy time, but I think everyone will like their gifts!

    Hope you all have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. Remember, freedom isn't free.

    XOXOXO,
    K.