Uncategorized

  • Happy News!

    Today was Jamie's appointment with the neurologist.  We weren't sure what to expect, but we went in and it was all good news!  First...NO MS!!!  That was the biggest worry, so we're thrilled that the MRI showed no signs of the disease.  Doesn't mean it might not happen later on, but for right now, it's a non-issue.  His spine looked great...not even the normal wear-and-tear that the doctor expected to see in a 32 year old!  In addition, his EMG turned out totally normal as well, so there's no problems with the nerves in his arms.  The doctor is pretty sure it's all based on sitting at a desk for so long at work, and poor posture, combined with weak abdominals and an over extended lumbar arch.  Basically, all things that can be fixed with physiotherapy!

    Also, Jamie got a call from his dermatologist while we were away on vacation, and the spot they took off his neck was non-cancerous!  EVEN BETTER!  So...no skin cancer (thank God), and no MS (even bigger thank God).  Which means he should be good on medical issues, at least for awhile.

    Which leaves us with the big, ever looming question of "what's next."  Still nothing on that front, but at least the medical worries are out of the way!

    Hope you all are doing well!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Back!

    We're back from vacation, and I miss it already.  We had such a great time away, the time just flew by!  I survived and passed my SCUBA certification...I'm now a certified open water diver!  I'm super excited to go on some dives soon...Jamie and I are talking about booking a trip to Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt for our next diving excursion.  The best dive times is July and August, which sort of sucks, because it means we won't be able to really sightsee while we're there.  We were hoping to combine a dive trip with a few days in Giza and Luxor, as well as a trip to Petra, Jordan and Israel.  But, honestly, I have no desire to sightsee the Middle East in the middle of July/August.  Talk about HOT!  No thanks...I'll stick with just the dive.  We can plan the other trips for later in the year, which Jamie seems to be ok with!  I'm so excited...seeing these parts of the Middle East has been a dream for as long as I can remember, especially Israel.

    In other news...Jamie should have the results back from his MRI tomorrow.  He has an appointment with the neurologist in the morning, so hopefully that will give us some ideas as to what is going on.  He didn't have any trouble at all while we were out this last week, so I'm hoping it has something to do with ergonomics, rather than a musculo-skeletal problem.  We'll see though...I'll keep you updated.

    Otherwise...life is back to normal.  We were going to go to London in a week or so, but turns out BOTH of our passports need to be sent off to the consulate:  mine to have more pages added, and Jamie's to be renewed because his expires in August.  Definitely won't get them back in time, which is fine because I'm sort of sick of airports at the moment.  I think we're going to try to take a few local day trips, maybe do some hiking in Germany, over the break.  Overall, it'll be good just to be out of work again.  These past few months have been kicking both our asses.

    That's about all for now!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Four Years

    Four years ago I walked down the aisle and said "I do" to the most amazing man I've ever met. These past years together have been incredible and challenging. Two international moves, buying and selling a house, vacations and birthdays, Christmases and New Years. We've weathered some storms, but there is no one I'd rather have by my side than Jamie. He's my rock, my sanity...my sense of humor and my logic. He's also a pain in my ass at times, but that's ok too.

    Right now, I'm sitting in the airport (again) waiting for our flight to Palma de Mallorca, Spain. I'm so excited for our trip and this time alone together...after the past few weeks, it has been sorely needed. I can't help but look forward to our future together and the adventures we'll have, and be incredibly excited. My one wish is that the rest of our years be as amazing as these past four.

    Hope you all are doing well...have a great week and weekend!

    XOXOXO,
    Kristin

  • Holy crap...and they used to say that air travel was glamorous.

    They lied.  They all lied.  They lied straight to my face, those rat bastards.

    Everyone always talked about how traveling for your company (or travel in general) was so glamorous.  See fabulous places, meet new and interesting people.  What they DIDN'T tell you was that you spend all your freaking time in damn airports!

    Over the past few weeks, I've come to realize that I know the Amsterdam airport better than I knew my college campus.  I was at my college for eight years.  How wrong is that?!  I'm so sick of airports, and airport scanners, customs and immigration, and freaking security checks that I nearly went off on the immigration official here in England when I got off the plane this afternoon.  On top of that, it was brought to my attention that I need additional pages added to my passport because all the "Visa" pages are full, except one.  So, that means I need to mail the passport to the consulate, pay money for expediting, and get that crap sorted out, because there are no in-person appointments available for the rest of the month.  Sigh...I need a break.

    But, on the other hand, a break is just around the corner!  About ten minutes ago, I finished my PADI Open Water Diver course and passed my exam...97%, baby!  I'm super excited about Wednesday, which is when we fly out to Palma de Mallorca for our diving (I need to do some confined water dives, and an open water dive, to be fully certified).  I absolutely LOVE Spain, and Palma is a gorgeous island!  I wish we were taking some time to go back to Barcelona (my all-time favorite city, ever), but we don't have the extra vacation days.  We're trying to pack in everything we can over this last year (Jamie's contract for this program should be finishing up midway through 2013), so we want to try to get as many travel opportunities in before we (potentially) move home.  Still not sure what is next for his job, but there is a possibility we'll move back to the States, so we want to take advantage of all our time here while we can.

    Then, hopefully, at the end of the month, we might be making a trip to London.  It'll just be a weekend trip (leave Friday after work and return on Sunday), but I'm super excited to go!  We've not been to London yet, and though we'll be there for the Olympics, we won't be doing any sightseeing during the games (it'll be way too crowded for all that).  So, we're hoping to get a few weekend trips in so that we can see the London sights without all the massive crowds that will be there for the Games.  Of course, this is all dependent on whether I can get my passport with the additional pages added back from the Consulate in time for the trip...we'll see.  Sometimes the Consulate here in the Netherlands is SUPER fast, other times, not so much.

    What else...Jamie had an MRI done on his back on Saturday.  He's supposed to get the results back from the Neurologist the Monday after we return from Palma.  I really hope that it gives us an idea of what is going on.  The neuro doesn't THINK he has MS, but it hasn't been 100% ruled out either.  I'm trying really hard not to worry about it too much until we know something definitive.  Hopefully, it's nothing that some exercise and physio won't fix! 

    Ummm...what else.  Honestly, not much.  I've been super busy with work, and my SCUBA course, and all of Jamie's doctor's appointments and whatnot.  We've just been hanging out, and getting back into the swing of working out again!  We started running a few weeks ago...I love having him for a running partner!  He always knows how to encourage and keep me going...I'm so incredibly thankful for him.

    And, to all the lovely Mothers out there (including my own), I wish you all a Happy Mother's Day!  Hope it is everything you wished for!

    XOXOXOXO,
    K.

  • I'm here and alive

    I know it's been forever and a day since I've updated...sorry about that!  Life has been pretty boring lately, so nothing really to update on, which makes for a lack of xanga updates.

    The next few weeks are going to be exhausting!  Tomorrow I fly out to England for work, and I come back on Thursday.  After that, I fly out back to England on Sunday for another few days for some meetings with some higher ups, and then back Tuesday night.  Then, Wednesday, we fly out to Spain for my SCUBA diving certification!  It'll be a nice vacation...Wednesday through Sunday in Palma de Mallorca, Spain.  I absolutely love Spain, so I'm super happy to be going back.  We've been there before (in Palma, I mean), and it's gorgeous.  Sunny, warm, beaches, seafood...what more could I ask for!

    So far, I've been working on the SCUBA  book work to get ready for my dives once we get there.  I'm doing an eLearning course through PADI, which is nice, since I do much better studying and learning on my own. It's six models and I'm finished with the first two, so plenty of time to finish it up.  I'll work on some of it while I'm in England this week, then hopefully finish it up next weekend before we leave.  The flight to Palma isn't too bad...a two hour flight out of the town we live in.  The best thing about that is it's only a 10 minute drive to the airport!  I love not having to add the time it takes to get to the airport into the commute, it makes things go so much faster.

    I finally broke down and bought a one-piece swimsuit for the trip.  I normally wear a bikini, but I hate the way a wetsuit feels against my skin, so I prefer a one-piece for diving.  It's a speedo...and we all know that speedo =/= sexy.  But, it fits well, it covers me remotely well, and it has the proper type of back that I like...the one that mimicks a sports bra.  It's great for the girls, since they're huge.  For the rest of the time, when we're not diving, I'll be in my regular bathing suit, which I bought last year from Victoria's Secret.  It's a basic bikini...nothing special.  Since I avoid the sun like the plague, I don't really have much use for several bathing suits...I usually have one, and then replace it when it's officially either too big/small or it's falling apart.

    Which, brings me back to my weight loss journey.  Yeah...I'm stagnent.  I'm hovering right at the 160 mark.  I've been below it...my lowest was 157, but I keep yo-yoing between 157 and 162.  I can't seem to get below that, but I'll be honest, I'm also not trying that hard.  Jamie and I are finally getting back into a work-out routine, so hopefully that will help.  Even though I haven't gained anything, I feel as though my body is shifting...it's getting squishier.  I don't like the squishy.  So yeah, I need to work on that.

    Otherwise...not much going on.  Jamie will be getting his skin cancer removed next week, so hopefully that will take care of that bit.  He has check-ups every six months after that, for five years, so it'll be more doctor appointments, but hopefully less problems.  They're still running tests on his back, to see if they can figure out exactly what is going on with him, but so far nothing.  He has an MRI scheduled for next weekend, but he won't have the doctor's appointment to find out the results until after we get back from Spain.  I really hope they get it sorted out...I think he'd like to know what is going on, regardless of what the problem is.

    So...that's it for now.  Life is busy, but manageable, so I can't really complain.  We have some exciting trips coming up, so that's something to look forward to!  I hope you all are doing well, and that you had a great weekend!

    XOXOXO,
    K. 

  • Skin Cancer, part 120984690340132

    Sigh.  For those that have been around for awhile and who know me, you know that I've dealt with skin cancer.  Several times.  I think I'm up to 10, currently, but honestly...I've lost count.

    A few years back, I noticed a spot on Jamie's back that looked weird, and I told him to get it checked out.  He faffed around a bit, then finally went to the dermatologist, only to be told that he had skin cancer.  As though I didn't know what I was talking about!  Then, for a few years, we were both good!  When I went home last fall, I had another routine check-up with my dermatologist and came home with a sore spot on my hip and pre-melanoma removed.  Glad it was caught in time, but man, my skin needs a break!

    So...a few weeks ago, Jamie and I found a spot on his neck.  It was growing pretty rapidly, seeing as how it wasn't there a week or two prior to that.  I told him it needed to get looked at, and we made him an appointment with his dermatologist here.  He went in today, and sure enough...cancer again!  Luckily, it is either basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma, which are two reasonably easy cancers to get rid of.  A little slice, a little dice, and it's gone.  They're going to remove it in a few weeks, and then he gets the privalege of check-ups every six-months.  Lucky boy!

    So, here's a little PSA for all of you.  CHECK YOUR SHIT!  Seriously, skin cancer isn't something to fuck around with.  Wear your sunscreen, stay out of the sun, and for god's sake, don't fake n' bake.  And, while you're at it, slather up your kids too. 

    Your welcome, in advance.

    Sincerely,
    Cancer McCancersons and her husband, Mr. Skintastic

  • Musings.

    I keep telling myself I need to update, and then I sit down to write something out, and nothing comes to mind.  It's like writers block, but for my life.  And that, my friends, is sad. 

    I'm anxious for the next chapter in our lives, and I need to remind myself to live in the present.  The here and now is just as good as what is to come, but if I keep focusing on the future, I'm going to miss out on the present.  Food for thought...

    We booked our trip to Palma de Mallorca!!!  It's official, by June I'll be SCUBA certified and ready to go!  I'm trying to talk Jamie into another scuba trip off the coast of Egypt, but we'll see.  We've also discussed diving in Turkey as well...I'd be fine with either destination, the food is fabulous in both places (yes, I base my travel wishes of what the local cuisine is like...I'm a fatty like that).

    My best friend's little sister is getting married at the end of August, and I'm going to do my damndest to get home for it.  I'm going to see if my boss will let me work from the US for the week, so that I don't have to take vacation days, then hang out with my BFF and her family after work finishes each day.  I really hope it's approved, and I'm super excited for the wedding!

    That's about it right now.   A boring update, I know, but there you have it.

    Hope all is going well!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

  • Protected Post.

    Protected post is up.

  • Anniversary Present = Bust

    So, the anniversary present was a complete and utter bust.  I forgot that Jamie already has another iPod, a nano.  Since that one is working just fine, it doesn't make sense to buy him another.  He already has a armband that he uses for running with the iPod, so the iPod shuffle just seems like a waste.  It's a nice gadget, but if he already has an iPod, it's just something extra to sit around and collect dust. 

    So...back to square one.  I'm now desperately taking ideas for what I should get him.  The chocolate covered strawberries stay on the list, because it's his favorite.  So yeah...I'm back to shameless begging for ideas from all of my super loyal followers.  I really don't want to spend more than 50 euros on something, since we're going to Palma the next day. 

    Thoughts?  Please!?  PRETTY PLEASE?!?!?!!?!?

    XOXOXO,
    Desperate to find a gift for her husband who puts up with way to much of his wife's shit.

  • Anniversary

    Our 4 year wedding anniversary is coming up next month, and I have no idea what to get Jamie.  The traditional wedding presents are flowers and fruit, but frankly...I'm not sending my husband flowers.  He'd be like, "umm...thanks?" and then they'd die.  He loves fruit, so I can easily do some chocolate covered strawberries for him (his favorite), but I'd like to get him something else.  Which got me thinking...fruit...apples...APPLE!

    Yeah...we're pretty much an Apple family.  Our work laptops are PCs (sadly), and we also have a PC for a personal laptop, but when that sucker dies, it's going to be a MAC.  They may be more expensive, but we really like the user interface a lot more, plus it has a lot of photo editing features that are easier to use than PCs (and Jamie and I love photography, and take pictures constantly). 

    Then, I realized that Jamie's iPod touch is about dead.  It won't hold charge anymore, and it's bulky to use when working out (the thing is huge, let's be honest), so I thought about getting him a replacement.  I don't want to spend a lot of money on a gift, since the day after our anniversary we're heading to Palma, Spain for a SCUBA certification course for me (and to relax at the beach).  So, that will be our main gift to each other, but I'd like to get him something small, just for him.

    Soooo...I think I'm going to get him an iPod Shuffle.  It's super tiny, it clips to your workout clothing, and can be worn with a wristband as a watch.  Even better, you can get it engraved for free (like I did his iPad), which I really like.  It's not like we care about resell value (since getting it engraved makes it harder to sell)...we tend to use these things until they die.

    shuffle

    I think I'll get him the blue one.  He loves the color blue, plus it'll be easier to find than the standard silver one (since he has a tendency to toss things in a drawer until he uses them...sigh.  At first, I thought the color was a bit girly, and then I realized that it matches the color of his eyes, so I was hooked (I absolutely LOVE Jamie's eyes...gorgeous).  So...too bad...it might be girly, but it reminds me of him.  Plus...it's only $49 online, and I might be able to get it cheaper from Target or Wal-Mart online (though no engraving...but that's ok).  I'll do some shopping around to get the best deal, and go from there!

    Finally...I have an anniversary gift idea, and I figured it out EARLY!  That said...do any of you have better ideas?  I'm still open to suggestions since I haven't bought it yet!

    XOXOXO,
    K.