January 31, 2013

  • Where has the time gone!

    Last night, I realized that we are nearly into February.  Then, immediately after that thought, I realized that my friend, Nicola, is due with her baby in the beginning of February, and I haven't even STARTED her baby blanket!  Crap, crap, crap!

    So...I rush around, grab my supplies, and get started.  I'm doing a modified granny square pattern, much like the afghan that I did for my MIL.  Nic and Dad didn't want to know the gender of the baby, so the colors are greys and yellow...very cute, I think!  Thankfully, I had purchased the yarn for this project way back in the day, so I didn't have to worry about waiting for a yarn delivery from the UK (whew...for once, I actually thought ahead).  I managed to finish up 10 rows last night, and the finished product will probably be around 36-40 rows, but since you work your way out in a square shape, each row takes longer and longer.  

    Here are the yarn colors that I'm working with!  I absolutely ADORE the dark grey color (graphite).  I need to find some use for it for something in our place!

    Unfortunately, the photo is sideways, but you get the idea.  Those are the yarns, spread out next to me, last night.  I was working from the couch.  Ignore the kleenex packet next to me...it appears I have come down with the plague and have been running through kleenex like they're going out of business.

    Here is what I've done so far on the afghan.  I really love how the colors are coming together!  At the moment, it's only about a 10-inch square (I know it's hard to tell from the photo).  When finished, it should be close to 36" x 36" square.  Perfect for a baby blanket, and then later as a lap quilt for the couch.  

    So, what do you think?  

     

    XOXOXO,
    K.

Comments (3)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment