March 26, 2013

  • The Last Night

    Tonight is our last night here in the Netherlands.  Tomorrow morning, we board a plane and head back to what will now become our “home” again, after over three years living abroad.  In the past week, I’ve cried more tears than I have in the past year, said more goodbyes than I have ever wanted to say, and given more hugs than I can count.  It hurts to leave this place in a way that is indescribable, and yet I’m filled with excitement for what is in front of us.  

    I can’t even come up with words to say how thankful I am for this opportunity to experience all that we have, and for the relationships that I’ve gained with the people I’ve met along the way.  Each and every person I’ve met here has changed me…some in tiny ways, and some in ways so significant I’ve yet to realize the full impact.  But I’m thankful for all of them, and even though it hurts to leave, and I’m sad to go, I wouldn’t trade that pain for the friendships and relationships I’ve gained.  They’re worth every tear, every heartache, and every dollar spent on international telephone rates.  I’m going to miss them, but they’ll never leave my heart.

    So, for now, tot ziens.  And remember, it’s not “goodbye,” but merely, “until I see you again.”

    XOXOXO,

    K.

Comments (2)

  • This brings back memories of my last day in Utah.  I was BAWLING with Ryan, in the car, with Stacie, by myself, on the phone….it was SO hard.  ANd to think, i have to do it all over again someday…and again and again.  

  • safe travels and smooth sailing!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *