November 30, 2012

  • It's always something.

    I swear, it's always something in life.  I've been working out regularly again, seeing a personal trainer and really getting my strength back.  I've been eating well, and generally pretty happy with things.  I haven't been weighing, because I know I'm doing the right things, so it doesn't really matter what the scale says.

    Until now.  Now, my damn knee is effed again.  It's popping with every step I take, catching on something underneath the kneecap.  I'm not sure if it's floating cartilege, torn something or orther, or what is going on.  All I know is that a) it's not normal, b) it's not good, and c) it hurts like a mother.  I've also been sick this past week, so I had to cancel personal training yesterday, which was probably for the best because I'm not sure what I can do with my knee being jacked.

    I have an appointment with the orthopedic surgeon who did my foot surgery here a few years ago.  My ortho back home already told me I needed surgery, but I've been trying to put it off for awhile.  I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to put it off any longer.  And, having already had one knee surgery, I am really not looking forward to another.  It's not the pain that puts me off (I have a super high pain tolerance, and only took pain killers for the first 6 hours after surgery the last time...and no pain killers, other than paracetamol, after my foot surgery), it's the inactivity while I'm recovering!  I do not want another extended round of inactivity like I had after my first knee surgery and after my foot surgery.  I just cannot handle being inactive!

    Ugh..so yeah...if you have any spare thoughts, please send them my way.  I'm hoping this can be fixed fairly simply, but you never know. 

     

    XOXOXO,
    K.

Comments (5)

  • What a bummer...i'm so sorry.  Ryan and my mom had something similar....it's almost as if something is out of place and it's painful!  My mom's was floating cartilege and bone spurs, which would eventually move and feel better (never perfect though).  Ryan recently felt the same thing and he took a week off and then slowly got back to working out.  Is it swelling?  Hopefully something has moved and it will just move back soon!!  If you can, maybe try the bike....very slow and easy.  I'm not sure how much pain you're in, but that might speed up the process of getting it to move.  I'm not a doctor though....so i'm glad you're getting it checked out.  When the doc said you needed surgery, was it for scoping or something else?  My only other recommendation would be to get it over with now if you need surgery because it will never happen once you start baby makin'

  • @ShamrockLover - I have really lose joints, which is one of my problems.  Because of that, none of my joints "track" correctly.  My knee caps slip constantly, my hips and shoulders pop in and out of socket...just general stuff like that.  I don't think it's floating cartilege, because I've had that before and this feels different, but there's always a possibility.  I won't know until we ultrasound it, which I'm sure they'll do (and if they don't suggest it, I'll insist).  The surgery I've had before (and might have again) is a "quick fix" kind of surgery...it's called a lateral release.  Basicaly, they go in via scope, use a bunch of saline to blow up my knee, then cut into fibers on the outer side of my kneecap to sort of "release" the tension, allowing it to fall to the other side. 

     I've had it done once...it works for awhile, but it's not the fix that I really need.  Apparently, the real surgery I need is where they go in, pretty much sever all the tendons and ligaments, and put in new, tighter ones from other parts of my body, to hold everything in place.  It's a long-ass recovery period that requires me to learn how to walk again, which doesn't sound appealing.  I went to my first orthopedic surgeon at 17 and he told me I'd have full knee and hip replacements (both sides) before I'm 40...so I'm just counting down the years.  It sucks.

    If I do need surgery (not the super invasive one, but the release one), I'll have it done here before we move home.  Much cheaper medical costs here, and 100% of our medical expenses are reimbursed as expats! 

  • Praying for you!

  • I know that there is at least a period of time of inactivity after any surgery, but how soon can you do low impact things like walking? Either way, I'm with you, inactivity sucks

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *