April 24, 2013

  • The Letter of the Day…”V”

    Today’s “Letter of the Day” is brought to you by the letter V.  A few “V” things going on in my life right now…and no “virginity” isn’t one of them.

    First…volunteering.  Our company is really big on volunteering, and every year we have a goal of 100% of our employees doing 4 EEEC hours (Every Employee, Every Community).  Now, four hours isn’t much, and we can even take the time off during the work week, and you’d be surprised how many people DON’T do this!  I find it so weird…it’s free time off work, to go help others!  How is that a non-win?!  During undergrad, I was member of a Service Fraternity, Alpha Phi Omega, and had an amazing time!  I volunteered at some amazing places, and met friends that will last me a lifetime, not to mention, I gained memories to last a lifetime.  So, when we went to the NL and I discovered that volunteering wasn’t really a big thing there, I was super disappointed.  We finally, towards the end of our time there, gained some insider knowledge on how to volunteer.  We were able to volunteer a few times, but that was it…and then we moved home.  But, here at least, volunteer opportunities are around every corner!

    So…I picked my first one today.  I have filled out the application to be a “Book Buddy” in the fall.  This is basically a school program where adults come in and help children with their reading skills for one hour a week, during the school day.  Most of the time its during our lunch hour, so I don’t have to miss work, and it’s something that is ongoing throughout the entire school year.  I’m so excited!  Reading and literacy is one of my biggest passions, and I really hope I can inspire kids to love reading as much as I do!  I won’t find out where I’m placed until July timeframe, and the program starts in August, so hopefully things with the move home and life will be all sorted by then. 

    On top of this, I would really like to be a Girl Scout leader.  I contacted the organization while we were in the NL, and never heard back from them, so I’m going to try again now that I’m back in the States.  Hopefully I’ll be able to start something up with that as well, once the school year starts.  I love these sorts of projects!  Working with kids makes me super happy.

    My other “V” news is vegetarianism.  I’ve been toying with going veggie for awhile now…even though I freaking LOVE meat.  But, even though I love it, I feel like shit eating animals (huge animal lover here), so I’ve decided that, if I can’t stand to kill it myself (hypothetically), then i’m not going to eat it.  I’ve started another blog about this, so if you want to check it out, it’s over here.  I’m honestly not sure how it’s going to go…I feel very committed, but I also realize that in some of the places we travel, it’s not very realistic.  I don’t want to get to the point where having something made with beef broth is going to make me vomit everywhere, so odds are I’ll probably eat meat eventually…who knows.  For right now, though…I’m very happy with my decision.  I’m just playing it by ear and doing my best to stick to my values…while recognizing that nothing is perfect.

     

     

    So yeah…that’s about it for now!  Hope you all are having a wonderful day!

    XOXOXO,
    K.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *